Chen Show Mao at Moulmein-Kallang GRC Rally

I went down to the open field by Kallang Ave to support WP’s rally yesterday. It was kind of a crazy walk, as I parked about a 15 min walk away and didn’t expect the rally to be so isolated. It was right beside a construction site, of which the foreign construction workers who were sitting at the higher levels of the site had a better bird-eye view of the rally, and the space was limited.

I had to jump or tiptoe occasionally so as to get a view for the candidates on stage. The towering crowd made it impossible after a while, and it felt like I was back to the Japanese occupation era, whereby rallies were transmitted via the loud hailers/speakers system. Haha, one hell of an experience though.

Anyway, when I arrived at 9pm (cos I figured I attended the PAP’s election too early the previous day), I was just in time for the 3 star speakers namely Chen Show Mao, Low Thia Khiang and Sylvia Lim.

One of the most epic quotes of the night would be (after Chen finally made his first debut speech in Mandarin) – “I apologise for speaking in mandarin so late lest someone thinks i’m from China and wants me to go back.”

HAHAHAHA.

Leave a comment